Gitshots für Windows verwendet CommandCam

I originally wrote CommandCam (my command line webcam image grabber) for one of my engineering students who needed to add some simple machine vision functionality to his final-year project. To my surprise, we couldn’t find an existing free command line image grabber for Windows, so I wrote one. Once I published it online, I discovered that quite a few people were downloading it and some of them were using it for fascinating projects – photographing laptop thieves, time-lapse photography, etc.

Anyway, I came across another interesting use of it today. Gitshots is something clever that Víctor Martínez created for Mac OS to automatically take a webcam snapshot each time a programmer commits code to a git repository (that’s basically a source code management system). German software engineer Benedikt Eger wanted to do the same thing in Windows, so he came up with an elegant three-line hack (English translation) using CommandCam.

When you write a simple program like CommandCam and send it out into the world, it’s really interesting to hear about the places it ends up!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gitshots für Windows verwendet CommandCam

  1. moalmeyer says:


    The link pointing to your elegant three-line hack seems to be down.
    I would be happy to know how using CommandCam and gitshots


    • batchloaf says:

      Unfortunately, Benedikt’s site seems to be down and I can’t remember exactly what his three line hack was. I suppose you could try to contact him directly, but I don’t have an email address or anything. Sorry about that!


  2. The gitshots script which would work on windows (but via cygwin) is available here:

Leave a Reply

